Lincoln County

Where YOUR candidates stand… in their own words.

U.S. Congress

KY Judiciary

You will vote on ALL of these nonpartisan judicial races.

Supreme Court

Intro to the Supreme Court

Basic Info: The Supreme Court is the state court of last resort and the final interpreter of Kentucky law. Seven justices sit on the Supreme Court and all seven justices rule on appeals before the court.
Cases Handled: Appeals involving the death penalty, life imprisonment or imprisonment for 20 years or more go directly from Circuit Court to the Supreme Court. All other appeals must first be heard by the Court of Appeals, except those so exceptional that the Supreme Court will grant a request to bypass the Court of Appeals.
Term: Supreme Court justices serve eight-year terms.

Circuit Courts/Family Courts

Intro to Circuit Courts/Family Courts

Cases Handled: Can hear all types of cases unless the General Assembly has given exclusive jurisdiction of particular kinds of cases to another court to handle, such as District Court. Circuit Court hears civil matters involving more than $5,000, capital offenses and felonies, divorces, adoptions, termination of parental rights, land dispute title problems and contested probates of will. It also has the power to issue injunctions and writs of prohibition and mandamus to compel or prohibit acts, and to hear appeals from District Court and administrative agencies.
Term: Circuit judges serve eight-year terms.

Note: Family Court is a division of Circuit Court that hears only cases involving families and children.

District Courts

Intro to District Courts

Cases Handled: Hears juvenile matters, city and county ordinances, traffic offenses, probates of will, felony preliminary hearings, civil cases involving $5,000 or less, guardianship, conservatorship, voluntary or involuntary commitment, child abuse and neglect, and domestic violence.
Term: District judges serve four-year terms.